The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today’s society, it is inevitable that advertising is supremely ubiquitous – on the radio, TV, the internet, ect. The question of whether this industry is contributing to humans’ life quality living standard or deteriotating the quality of the commodities has been sparking a great controversy. Although Some believed that prohibiting all formulas of advertisement would be beneficial for people, but I completely disagree with this statement.

A school of thought holds that advertising offer us nothing short of drawbacks, which is understandable to the fact that mass media has been providing people with misled, filtered information, and even distorted truth. Thus, this industry drives people to paranoid and unsafe feeling. Having said that, if it were not for electronic and print advertising how could the producers promote their products to the consumers and how could we be capable of grasping an understanding about them. For example, as a testament to the power of promotion that not until the rampantly advertisments in 14th century did humans start to be in the habit of using toothpaste – one of the most integral/indispensable things/items in our daily lives. Therefore, it is advertising that always has a pivotal role to play in the commercial industry.

Furthermore, I concur with the notion that the advantages of advertising could firmly outweight its short-comings. Not only the comodities has been considerably increased but also a number of employment has been witnessed a considerable upward trend. Viet Nam is a case in point, where people are giving importance to the advertising majors as evidenced by jobs with various types and lucrative income, which directly leads to the decline in unemployment. Another example that could be cited is how the USA becoming one of the most superpowers in the world. In there, others major is pale in comparison with the advertising. The reason is they have an executive regime to ustilise the advertisements to make the best effort for the development of the country as well as others nations could visualize how beneficial their goods are.

In conclusion, I reject the conviction that giving a prohibition on advertising would be helpful to people and the society.