Many people are now spending more and more time traveling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have divergent views as to whether spending longer time commuting to the workplace or school is beneficial or harmful. This essay aims to analyze both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective which is that traveling time should be shorter as people can have more spare time for other tasks.

On the one hand, one of the major benefits which is derived from taking longer time for getting to work, school is the admiration of the world around us. Indeed, a long trip to an office or academic institution can also be a longer exposure to the outside world, when most of our time is spent online. Consequently, this can be a surprisingly good way to get out of the cyberworld and see what is actually happening in the society. For example, we can interact with people who have varying linguistic and academic backgrounds taking the same bus sharing about their countries, cultures to learn new knowledge.

On the other hand, more spare time to do other tasks is undoubtedly a discernible advantage of shortening commute time to work or school. In fact, people have a substantial volume of work that needs more effort and time nowadays, especially for those who have a family with a newborn baby as pressure can come from how to organize time to finish both their stressful workload while still maintaining an enjoyable family life. Consequently, with shorter time spent on traveling, people can reduce the pressure from daily life as well as gain more positive feelings by taking time for friends and family.

In conclusion, I believe both sides have their own merits. On balance, it is my opinion that traveling time between home and workplace, school should not be long. This is because it is my firm belief that travelers can spend more quality time on other works and interests.