Many people argue that exams are the best way to assess people’s competence and that no better system has yet been found. Others say they are unfair, unhelpful and out of date. Do you think the benefits of exams outweigh the disadvantages?

The efficiency of exams has always been a topic of debate. Some people are of the opinion that traditional testing is the superior method in terms of assessing level of ability while others have suspicions about the effectiveness. From my point of view, I am inclined to believe that the demerits of conventional examination outweigh its merits.

It is a matter of fact that examination is the most common means of assessing students. Standardized tests evaluate one’s ability based on regulated criterion, therefore, teachers are able to give feedback on specific sections. Another advantage of examination is it creates a sense of being competitive. Learners are motivated to score higher as losing and scratching from the race have never been an ideal option.

On the contradictory side of the argument, traditional testing system appears to have insufficiency. It is worth mentioning that exams aim to test the acquisition of theoretical knowledge that are basically taken from textbooks. Students are using rote learning as a solution to oppose this method of assessing. Furthermore, regular examinations put a strain on students, forcing them to deal with knowledge that undoubtedly they have little understanding of. It should also be emphasized that alternative assessments nowadays have proved its credibility by evaluating learners on a more comprehensive scale. Moreover, it promotes creativity as well as enhancing students researching skills, hence, schools are applying this model to appraise outcomes.

To draw a fair conclusion, the usual exams impose and do harm to the attainment of knowledge. Optimal resolution such as alternative assessments provide a more realistic setting for student performance. Irrefutably, the drawbacks of exams certainly prevail over its benefits.