Many people believe that criminals should be imprisoned; others, however, say they should do unpaid work that is beneficial for the community. Discuss both view and your opinion.

It is universally accepted that criminals are supposed to be locked up in jail as soon as they are evident for committing a crime. While it is often argued that these criminals should spend their life in lockup in order to make them realize that they should not have done the crime, it is also possible that they are forced to do work without any salaries as a punishment which might assist societies in numerous ways. This essay will take a look at both sides of the argument before reaching a concrete decision.

To commence with, it is inevitable that life in jail is quite challenging and the criminals have to struggle immensely every day. At first, they are not aware of what type of people they have to live with or what food they will be served or what activities they have to perform and of course, they do not have any right to ask questions, thus becoming dependent on every situation. For this reason, many offenders realize the meaning of independence and think twice before committing any other crime after they are free again. To illustrate, a report states that in Pakistan, sinners who have been in jail for one time are most likely not to commit the sin again because they are afraid of jail life.

Conversely, it is also worth considering that governments should avail the opportunity to make criminals work without paying them and that may lead to aid communities. Lawbreakers are usually smart and intelligent and they can perform tasks in their free time at the prison. This will have two major advantages, for instance, one is that criminals will be more skillful and possibly this will help them in getting a job after completion of their punishment. Another opportunity can be for the communities since female criminals should be taught the skill of stitching clothes and male offenders can learn the art of using computers and entering data which is the most demanding job around the globe.

Taking everything into consideration, it appears to me that criminals should be taught the skills and forcefully work without any cash reward as a punishment as this will most likely assist them as well as communities they will be working for.