Many people believe that formal ‘ pen and paper’ examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examination?

Using examination to examine students knowledge is a conventional method applied in most educational systems all around the world. Also, an exam is a requisite way to verify that the learner is ready to move on to the subsequent stage of their curriculum. However, it also existed some drawbacks making us reconsider about this method.

Generally, it is undeniable that there are some striking advantages of exams. After the learning process, to assess the study process of the students, exams have to be celebrated. They help ensure justice by imposing the same condition on all exam candidates. Also, in the exams, there are assorted types of questions such as multiple choices question, fulfill- the blanks, or essay tasks to evaluate, and promote learners’ capabilities with multiple aspects.

On the other hand, exams also have some negative sides. With “ pen and paper” exams, we usually see that a person with test-wise skills can get good grades even better than the studious learner who has more knowledge. For instance, with the multiple-choice question, students may select the arbitrary answer. It is so shocking that this random selection is precise. Meanwhile, another student makes an all-out effort to find out the answer, but they cannot have the exact answer just because of making an error at the terminal step. Also, because of anxiety or pressure, learners cannot do the test well and work the best of their potential. In these circumstances, we could perceive that there are lots of problems with the examination.

Personally, we should modify the method to check for students’ abilities to surmount subjective matters to guarantee fairness for all of students. Besides pen and paper exam, we can associate with other methods such as teamwork assignments, presentations in front of the class, or making a practical research to accumulate the grade for the learners. In this way, we can evaluate all students' abilities most effectively.

In conclusion, exams play a significant role in ensuring proper and objective assessment of the student. However, it will be better if we can design and supplement other forms of assessment besides the traditional exam to guarantee the examination is to be a truly beneficial element of the educational system.