The advantages and disadvantages of using Facebook for learning

Besides traditional classroom, lots of means of online instruction for online learning are applied, including Facebook. However, whether Facebook is an efficient tool is a controversial problem. Personally, Facebook has both pros and cons for learning.

About the positive sides, there is no doubt that Facebook is a wonderful tool supporting for interacting, sharing documents and doing group work productively which Zoom or Meet could not compare with. Learning on Facebook is absolutely a good chance of making new friends who inspire us to learn. Moreover, Facebook is also a large useful source of knowledge about a variety of aspects, so students can refer to acquire new and helpful information. Also, studying documents could be stored for a long time thanks to Facebook, so we can review whenever we need them.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of Facebook affect negatively for learners. First, Facebook distracts students from learning. Most of us consider Facebook as a means of recreation rather than an educational tool, so students tend to not buckle down to learn seriously which influence adversely on the results of learning. Second, student can lose their learning target because of Facebook. Lots of hot news of their idols, attractive advertising of games or funny videos are some curious familiar things appearing before we get into exactly the pages to learn. Third, there is no clear boundary between learning and individual life which Meet or Zoom outweigh. The chaos of announcements relating to learning and other aspects such as the quantity of like or dislike of your new photos or status, the new posting of your friends, etc are cause for using Facebook as an educational tool unsuccessfully.

In a nutshell, there are some negative sides argue with the viewpoint that Facebook is a useful online learning tool. However, Facebook can be used as an effective means of online instruction as long as we can take advantage of the advantages of Facebook and stay away from its negative attractions.