Some people think that children’s free time must include educational activities otherwise they will waste their time. What is your opinion?

Free time is a wonderful period to relax or release stress after a long hard-working time. It is thought that children will use their free time wastefully if educational activities are not included in their leisure. There are lots of debates related to this point; personally, it is a misperception because it can lead to lots of adverse problems.

The foremost problem is that children may be under pressure if they are lessened spare time. It is reasonable that children need to learn more knowledge to get higher learning results, but they are young, and they have more time for studying. Because studying is an endless process that we cannot finish in a short time, we should not put too much pressure on children to learn all time. It will be better for children if we reduce learning time for children. In this case, children will be more relaxed, have more energy, and be able to learn better.

The second concern is that spending too much time learning without rest will cause children to be more passive. Imagining that children learn from dust to dawn or learn the whole year without rest or summer holiday, we can see that children will not have time for doing some other active activities, namely, playing sports, watching TV, chatting with friends or family, camping or holding picnics. All of these activities will indeed help children improve themselves more. They enlarge their view, they know how to interact or communicate with others, and they are also healthier by motivating through playing games.

In brief, children have the right to have time for relaxing, so they can use this time for resting purposes only. Including educational activities in the free time of children is not time-consuming, but losing the free time of children and making them have no time to explore more about the world outside is absolutely a waste of children's free time.