Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

To what extent do you agree?

Large mass of people think that attention given to famous individuals in the media adversely affects the youngsters. I completely disagree with this position because the influence on offspring is from the family and also contents are censored. This essay will justify my position.

To begin with, one probable reason why the activities of the celebrities aired does not affect children is because, they are majorly influenced by the family as the first agent of socialization. As a result, in their cognitive stage, they pick-up behaviours, that will shape them, irrespective of what they watch. However, if the family fails, children are bound to become problems to the society. In fact, it is the parents who even teach their wards some of the negative lifestyles. To illustrate, most people who turn out with bad upbringing have attributed the problem to their parents and guardians rather than what they observe on celebrity's life. Thus whatever these young minds become is purely as a result of the way they were trained, not because of contents seen on screen.

Furthermore, though things viewed can have negative effect on the younger generation, the contents aired are censored. The censor board in most countries, ensure modesty in items on public spaces. Censorship category is based on age and other factors, such that a person less than that age sees them due to his or her predisposition to learn them, which makes it not the effect of the content. For instance, in a survey conducted by the Department of Psychology, University of Abuja, it was observed that most persons who act negatively do based on peer pressure and the few who claimed to have derived such from the media said they watched censored programs.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that although the celebrity lifestyle aired for public view can impact young people in a negative way, it is the family and exposure to illicit content by their own resolve that expose children to Ill behaviours.