Many people believe that online learning brings some disadvantages to students. Do you agree?

These days, online education is becoming increasingly popular with the advent of computer technology. Although there are some demerits of online learning, I would argue that there are far more merits.

To begin with, the main drawback of a virtual class is that there is a lack of interaction between teachers and students. Communication is restricted by computer screens and teachers find it hard to explain all the knowledge to their students. For instance, in an offline class, teachers can know whether their students understand the lesson or not just by facial expressions and then answer the question of students. Moreover, attending online classes makes students sit in front of the computer for hours on end. As a result, their eyes and posture suffer terrible effects.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I believe that online learning has several advantages, especially during the pandemic. Firstly, learning via the internet is convenient and time-consuming, which is suitable for people all around the world, regardless of age, gender or education level. Students can study at any time without wasting time travelling and being affected by weather conditions. For example, students don’t have to endure the summer heat or get stuck in traffic on the way to school. Additionally, the cost of online classes is much cheaper than a face-to-face class and students can access updated knowledge through the internet.

In conclusion, despite the shortcomings of online learning, it is obvious that studying online shows undeniable positive aspects.