many people believe that overconsumption of refined sugar is a major problem in the world and should be regulated the same as tobacco and alcohol. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, white sugar is eaten by millions of people, which is 100 times more than the past. A large number of individuals opine that consuming an excessive amount of white sugar leads to different diseases like obesity, high blood pressure. I completely agree that refined sugar should be regulated the same as cigarettes and liquor. I will discuss the reasons and solutions of overconsumption white sugar should be controlled in further ensuring paragraphs.

The higher amount of sugar products leads to a lower quality of life and many diseases. To explain this, millions of people consume junk-food candies and chocolates which has an excessive amount of sugar level, which increases the glucose and cholesterol level in the blood, which creates obesity, diabetes high blood pressure, and heart-diseases. For example, recently I read an article which stated that 65% of people suffering from diabetes due to consuming higher amount of sugar. Furthermore, overconsumption of concentrated sugar also affects society. To illustrates this when a large proportion of the people suffering from sugar-related diseases which means higher the medical cost. As a result, affected people are not contributing their best to society.

There are many ways to control sugar products and concentrated sugar. Firstly, the government should make the law of age restriction as to the same tobacco and alcohol in order to safeguard children below 18. Secondly, the ministry of health should impose a higher tax on sugar and sugar-related products the same as cigarettes and liquor. For example, India times article stated that due to higher taxation on cigarettes and alcohol consumption of such products reduced drastically. Lastly, individuals should also take care of their health by own. A person knows their perfect diet than anyone else, so they should reduce the concentrated sugar in their daily diet.

In conclusion, consuming an excessive amount of refined sugar causes many diseases that are directly and indirectly affecting individuals and society as well. By imposing higher taxation, age-restriction law by the health ministry and self-care by the individual, overconsumption of concentrated sugar can be controlled.