Some people believe that a greater difference in age between parents and children is more beneficial than less of a difference.

Do you think the advantages of a greater age difference outweigh the disadvantage?

In current generations, it is much common that people have children at an older age than in the past. In the past, most young generation became parents in their 20s where these days people planning to have children in their mid-30’s or early 40’s. This age gap has a significant impact on both children and parents. In my opinion the advantages of a greater age gap are more and valuable. But we cannot overshadow the disadvantages. In the following paragraphs would elucidate the merits and demerits of this development.

A positive aspect of having a larger age gap is financial stability and more time. To explain this, persons established their career and businesses in their early 30’s, they earn thousands of dollars and pre-occupy luxuries such as toys, home, car, and many more before having kid. Furthermore, they can spend extra 4 to 5 hours a day with their offspring. For example, my uncle and aunt had a child in their early 30’s.

My uncle and my cousin Gautam spend a lot of time playing different games in their luxurious farmhouse. Clearly, it benefits a lot of children.

Negative aspects of this trend are older parents feel ran out of energy and less empathy than their fellow young parents. To explain this, as people age increases, they require more sleep and get easily tired because they have less active energy. In addition to this, older parents have less understanding of modern culture and technologies. For instance, my uncle can not play cricket more than half an hour with his child Gautam because he feels exhausted. He always arguing with Gautam for using tablets and mobile phone.

In conclusion, the benefits of a greater age gap of parents have more time and more money. However, the drawbacks of this trend is less energy and less understating. People should have children when they are ready.