Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research is a “catch-all” term to illustrate the analysis of science in every domain of our life from behavioral mechanisms to the formation of subjects. As a result, this leads to the questioning against the ownership of these experiments between the national authority and the financially independent labels. Personally, from the viewpoint of a bystander, I perceive that neither of them outweighs the other.

In terms of the science-based studies, they leave an annual financial burden on the involved partners’ budget which in the long run, is a contribution to the depletion of the governmental revenue. Every year, the regularly updated statistics have supported the idea of huge investment in this field that mere cost for the maintenance of labs’ facilities has burned billions of dollars from the investors. Moreover, when it comes to the national pocket, most of it is from the mandatary tax policy from the domestic revenue which will see the occurrence of protests on the rising of tax for such experiments. Therefore, in regard to the financial maintenance in this field, this will leave the companies an upper hand to handle.

However, on the other side of the coin, this puts a concern on the surveillance of these scientific experiments. Without national supervision, the conduction of these experiments lays a worry in their consequences which are hidden from society. In the mid of 19th century, without the control of the authority, many unethically psychological experiments such as Stanford prison experiments had been conducted which had resulted in far-reaching continuous consequences to the involved participants and the society as a whole till here and now.

In conclusion, as it has shown that each of these owners has their own strong suit, I am still quite skeptical to come to the very last decision between them.