Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A variety of citizens are holding the belief that not private entities but the nation’s authorities should be the one and only organizations having the right to conduct scientific inquiries. From my personal standpoint, I would take side with this opinion due to the following reason.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that a majority of research conducted by non-governmental firms are mainly for the purpose of supporting their product sales or business operation. Hence, not only it is difficult for corporations to remain impartial in these circumstances but they also skew the truth and manipulate results with the aim of achieving commercial interests. In the case of a Vietnamese medical company in 2015, the deficiency in financial budget led them to the verge of carrying out probe with inadequate trials. The flawed results then be publicly stated in the way that is favourable for the firm’s goal to create monetary gain. Thanks to the intervention of the government at that time, innocent users are protected against this inhuman action.

The second point that should be taken into consideration is that government - as a nonprofit-driven institution, would have the ability to allocate a considerable amount of the nation’s expenditure for scientific inquiry. The nation’ top tiers university and skillful scientists would be those in charge of conducting high-quality research aiming at the sake of society. Given such strict supervision and proper management methods, only unbiased and neutral results are presented to the public.

In a nutshell, it is my belief that scientific research should be strictly monitored and operated only by the nation’s authority to produce the best outcome.