MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH SHOULD BE CARRIED OUT AND CONTROLLED BY GOVERNMENTS RATHER THAN PRIVATE COMPANIES ? TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Scientific research is believed to be conducted and managed by governments instead of private businesses. While the government's responsibility for investigations is of course essential, I concur with those who believe that private groups are just as important.

On the one hand, the government plays a significant role in scientific experiments due to a large number of reasons. Firstly, the main benefit of the government in scientific breakthroughs is that it ensures income equality, income redistribution, and equal opportunity. For example, by providing funds for public services, infrastructure, and social welfare, like paying money to support poor people, the government consolidates income equality, income redistribution, and equal opportunity. Secondly, scientific research which had been conducted by the government must be more reliable and raise apparently no ethical concerns. The government’s experiments adopted policies of medical safety and passed many stages of censorship to ensure the product would be productive for citizens.

On the other hand, I support the view that private companies can make a positive contribution to society by researching science. By working independently, groups of private companies would be more competitive and challenging. Therefore, both the speed of research and production would be increased. There is evidence to support the idea that private entities have not only profit motive but also quality products. For example, Pfizer invented the COVID-19 vaccines and provided them for many countries at an extremely low cost.

In conclusion, although people mainly suppose that scientific experiments should be done by governments, private groups still have the same significant role.