Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, while many people argue that the governments should be responsible for conducting and supervising scientific research, other ones suppose that private companies can take it well. In my point of view, I strongly agree with the former opinion.

In term of letting the private companies in charge of doing scientific study, it can lead to a lots of serious consequences. First of all, it is clearly seen that the first thing private companies care is profit. Therefore, to maximize profit, they do not care about negative effects the scientific research brings, which may cause harm to the environment or even human beings. Secondly, having no supervising from the government, private company can take advantage of scientific research to create illegal products. For example, chemical poisonous or genetically modified animals.

On the other side of a coin, if the scientific research is under governments' control, it is certainly shared widely due to the aim of providing latest knowledge for community of the governments. From that point, every citizen is able to access the study and even apply it in life, or agricultural for instance. Moreover, when the governments carry out the scientific research, they will need support from the university. That gives students chance to engage in practical research. From that, enhance those students’ potential and passion in science.

To sum up, the responsibility of carrying and controlling scientific study is more suitable with the governments than private company due to lots of benefits it brings. So, private companies should cooperate with the government rather than doing study separately.