Many people believe that social network sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, social network sites play a key role in peoples life. According to some, this has a detrimental effect on individuals and society, as, they argue, that this is a huge waste of time and can lead to cyberbullying. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that social media doesn’t only affect negatively, as people can keep in touch with their friends and relatives and gain large access to the latest news.

social network sites such as facebook and Skype greatly help people to communicate with their loved ones who are far from them. These days, almost everyone has a friend or a family member who loves in other countries. Since phone calls are extremely expensive, people use the internet to talk with their loved ones. For instance, I have several friends outside of my country, and facebook enables me to have daily chats with them, see their recent activities and pictures. this certainly makes me feel closer to them. Thus, with the help of social network distance barriers with relieves might be overcomed more easily.

Another significant benefit of social media is that people are able to be better informed about what is happening in the world. Currently, technology and science are developing at a rapid speed. Therefore, in order to succeed in the workplace, people need to keep up with the latest information. they can get numerous information and data via social networks. For example, there are various professional groups on facebook where people share their experience with others all over the world. Hence, social networks might be beneficial for professional purposes as well.

In conclusion, it was shown that social network sites have a significant impact on having long-distance relationships and keeping up with recent information. Though some believe that social networks are a threat to both individuals and society, still, in my opinion, the advantages of social networks far overweigh any drawbacks.