Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

it is often argued that social media has a does not have a positive impact all over in spite of it being helpful in many ways. this essay agrees that social media has negative influences because of the longer hours spent in these sites thereby wasting precious hours and due the vast spread of falsified information.

In today’s world, almost everyone uses social media such as Facebook. Firstly, the usage of these sites have become so addictive that individuals spend long hours in accessing it. users spend time in sharing and receiving updates from their friends. these virtual friends have slowly replaced the time spent with the family thereby losing valuable that could have been spent in doing some other activities. this has also resulted in the sedentary life style for many. In a recent survey done, it was found that an average user spends around 4 hrs. on a single day on social media and are left with no time for their family or any other self-improvement activities.

Secondly, the content shared in social media spreads really fast across the globe. Once shared, there is no control on the information being spread. While it is good for useful contents, others can lead to misinterpretation of information thereby causing confusion among the readers. it might lead to taking action without proper evidence, thus forming a potential danger to the society. it is for this reason government places a ban on social media during natural or man-made disaster. For example, in the recent bomb blast in Sri Lanka, the government had imposed a ban on social media till situation returned to normalcy.

To conclude, social media has more negative impacts on the society owing to the usage of it by the individuals. The long duration of time spent and the unrestricted sharing of content in the social media creates a negative influence on the individual.