Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Several people assume that social media such as Facebook has brought an extremely bad influence for personal and community. it admittedly true, however, the advantages of the online platform is worth to consider.

First and foremost, the advance of technology such as online social media has been attributed to the negative impact on psychology and health, due to addicting and sedentary behaviour. The user of these platforms prefers to interact with virtual friends than to socialize or participate in a social gathering. As a result, it would have a negative consequence on one’s personality such as lack of social and communication skill and social withdrawal. furthermore, it also leads to inactive behaviour such as spent a lot of their time in front of the computer. This attitude would increase the risk of overweight and other health consequences.

addicting to social networking could have a bad consequence to the community and it leads to failure in almost every fields. For example, most people in today world waste their time chatting or posting on Facebook or Twitter and fails to pay their attentions to the work or even family. it resulted in responsibilities neglected or event cause an accident. furthermore, social media endangered personal information and lead to cyber crime. The hacking of bank account, for instance, is often started with the leaking of personal information through social media.

Despite the demerit, I personally believe that social media has a positive aspect either for individual or society long as it uses on purpose and accordingly.