Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that social network websites are adversely affecting each individual as well as the whole community. From my perspective, while it is irrefutable that these sites had numerous negative impacts, the advantages it brings should not be underestimated

On the one hand, there is a variety of adverse effect that social network brings. To begin with, these sites can be quite addictive. There seem to be shreds of evidence that an increasing number of people, especially teenagers, is reported to have excessive usage of the social network. Furthermore, many of them are using social media sites as a means of escaping from reality and keen on living in the virtual world instead of the real one. It may lead to the disproportionate distribution in the workforce which may threaten the prosperity and stability of a nation. In the second place, using social network inappropriately may lead to numerous psychological and physical illnesses. Physically inactive for some time can accelerate the risk of obesity, high blood pressure or even strike. It also resulted in social anxiety or communication degradation as a consequence of being on their own for quite a long time.

Nevertheless, the social network can also associate with various positive impacts on each individual and the whole society. First and foremost, the social network was a brilliant invention when it comes to communication. It is irrefutable that social network sites such as Facebook or Twitter are connecting people and making the world flatter. An illustration of this is that people can effortlessly keep in touch with each other without paying extra international expenses. Another benefit is that it created several new occupations. Social network these days can be considered as a source of entertainment and the famous people on these sites is synonymous with film or music celebrities. Live-streamer, whose workplace is the website specialized in video projection, can be a suitable case in point.

To summarize, the social network may have adverse impacts including addictive and responsible for mental and strength disorders. But its communication convenient and easiness, as well as the merits of job creation, should not be underestimated