Many people believe that today there is a general increase in anti-social behaviour and lack of respect for others. What might have caused this situation? How to improve it?

More and more people argue that socially destructive behaviours and disrespectful attitude to others have been recently on the rise. This essay will suggest that these developments are driven by the availability of violent content in social media and a worsening living conditions of the population, and then propose that possible solutions can be establishing new regulations and providing funding for social needs.

While social media sources are widely available all over the world, there are a few regulations in place to control the quality of information presented online. Furthermore, majority of social networks are free to use and extremely easy to register in, which attracts terroristic organisations that are keen to expand the influence. As a result, calls for social protests reach real people, slowly changing their values and views. Another reason that promotes anti-social behaviour and contributes to the lack of respect for government leaders is a recession that many countries are going through at the moment. Affecting living standards all over the world, a dare economic situation pushes people to the streets to complain and criticise responsible authorities. For instance, Ghana, the poorest country of Africa, has the highest rate of riots in the region.

One of the possible solutions for these problems can be a specific law, demanding media providers to block harmful content. To further address this issue, these companies can be obliged to report authors of the blocked information to authorities in power. To address the lack of respect, governments should arrange social subsidies, helping the poorest cohort of society. Not only this promotes better attitude towards people in power, this also gives individuals a sense of stability, reducing their stress and irritation and encouraging respectful behaviours. Indonesia is a prime example, where in 2020 after the announcement of $1000 subsidy to people in need, crime rate dropped by 20% in the same year.

In conclusion, by allocating additional funds for social support and strengthening social media regulations it is possible to address problems of socially harmful behaviours and absence of respect for others.