Many people now use written language in a less formal and more relaxed way than in the past. Why is this the case? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in this modern era, written language is performed more informally than before. The root of this tendency might be the preference of efficiency over formality among people. While formal writing might show proficiency, it prevents writers from expressing their emotions and mitigate the effectiveness of the writings, which is negative overall.

To begin with, formal texts are often long and take a lot of time to read. These days people prefer saving time and energy for more important tasks, therefore, they tend to utilize communicating methods that are simple and effective at the same time.

Writing in formal language might be beneficial, especially in workplace. Companies often apply formal writing into their paper works and communication. It shows respect and a neutral reaction to any problems that are discussed between different levels of employees. Email, for instance, is usually written in formal language when being utilized as a communicating method between business partners or between employers and employees.

However, writers might find it hard to show feelings in formal writings and sometimes it could create difficulties for the readers. As formal writings are usually written in a neutral tone, it would create barriers for people when they want to express their love or anger to others. Love letters would sound emotionless and boring if written in a formal way, which then lead to failures in demonstrating the writers’ love, for example. Informal language therefore would be more suitable and useful in daily situations, such as exchanging letters or texting. Furthermore, formal writings could be complicated for certain types of readers. Children, for example, would be incapable to read formal texts and find them boring. People who have the educational levels of primary school would find it difficult to read, therefore, newspaper should be written a friendly and relaxing way for their readers to enjoy.

In conclusion, people now prefer less formal written language because it is more effective and while it might be advantageous to business people, I argue that in general, its negative effects prevail over its benefits.