Many people nowadays see a counselor or therapist to improve their mental health. Some feel, however, that this is unnecessary. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People, in this day and age, consider that their mental health can be improved significantly by a counselor or therapist; meanwhile, others reject this belief and assume this is inessential after all. In this essay, both points of view will be examined and I will give my opinion afterward.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that hiring a counselor or therapist is highly recommend. People believe this as they could share the burdens of emotions and thus improve a person’s mental health. Long-seated issues can make people feel anxious or depressed; therefore, a therapist can listen to confessions and give useful advice. People then would feel relive, gain benefits such as being more active, feeling more optimistic as well as well sleeping. Another advantage of this kind of therapy is that it would improve communication skills as well as broaden a person’s horizon. Frequent face-to-face conversations enable people to talk more fluently and find it easy to speak up their mind. Moreover, when listening to another perspective in solving a problem would enlarge more knowledge as well.

On the other hand, people assert this is a waste of time since people can improve their mental health themselves. People believe this because they think this would cost a lot of time, money, and endeavor. Undoubtedly, hiring a counselor for an hour is expensive; furthermore, numerous hours will be used for talking with a stranger and sometimes this makes people feel uncomfortable and can not speak. Therefore, it would take a lot of time for this to be completed. Moreover, people feel that they can find ways to improve their mental health since they have beloved ones who are always ready to give them advises or they can just listen to healing music or doing their hobbies to forget the pain and feel at ease.

In conclusion, both sides have merits. On balance, I, however, tend to believe that mental problems can only be solved by ourselves so there is no need to hire a counselor or therapist.