Many people prefer to communicate with their online friends than to socialize with people in their local communities. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage.

Due to the significant development of social media, it is widely believed that humans nowadays prefer to communicate with their online peers than to have real interaction with local residents. Although there are several merits which relate to this recent trend, I consider the setbacks may outweigh the advantageous aspects.

On the other hand, I understand why many people of the fervent conviction argue that interacting with peers via social network is more benefifical. Firstly,it is widely claimed that socializing online can help people widen the circle of friends with similar interests, which might not always happen with the local communities. For instance, thanks to the emergence of Facebook or Instagram, young generation can easily find the people share similar habits with them, leading to a more delighted life. Moreover, humans have more opportunities to enhance their knowledge about different culture and tradition around the world. By connecting with foreign peers, online users are introduced about cultural aspects of their peers’s countries, gradually leading to the union of the world.

Despite the merits described above, several disadvantages related to this issue may come as an expense and outweigh the positive sides. Firstly, the preference to online communication is the potential factor which leads to the loss of real-life relationships. In addition, If humans only focus on maintaining their online interaction, they will gradually forget about how to strike up new relationships with local neighborhood, leading to the society’s partition. Secondly, people are confined into a virtual world and emotional status, which is far different from a real- personal relationship. As a result, many people, especially youngsters, not only experience mental-related problems such as depression, anxiety but also find it difficult to turn back to the normal real life.

Taking everything into consideration, although online socialization can bring some indispensible advantages, I believe many visible drawbacks go beyond the borders and outweigh the merits.