Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?

Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

There is no doubt in saying that foreign films are more well-known in many countries than domestically produced films. There are a host of reasons for this tendency, and I strongly believe that governments should take their responsibility for supporting local film in terms of finance.

There are several factors behind people’s favoritism towards foreign films. First and foremost, the establishment of film industries in global countries improves greatly thanks to huge investment in action, special effects, and spectacular locations as well. For example, Hollywood blockbusters like ‘Avatar’ of James Bond films, which expend a lot on imaginative plots and breath-taking backgrounds, earn substantial revenue from moviegoers around the world. Another root why these big-budget films are well-received is that these days, there is a growing trend towards discovering international culture. This means people are likely to learn other nations’ traditions, cultural activities and if they fail to afford overseas trips, experiencing through movies can be one of the best choices.

In order to solve the problem, it is essential that governments should financially support local moviemakers. Around the world, there could be talented amateur film-makers who just need to be given the opportunity to flaunt their talents. Furthermore, to attract viewers, these people need a large sum of money to pay for qualified film crews, celebrated actors, and so forth. If governments did help with these costs, they would see a rise in employment in the field of arts, income from film sales, development in their nations’ culture, and perhaps even an increase in tourist numbers. Ha Long Bay, for instance, has witnessed growth in tourism profits after appearing in the ‘King Kong’ movie.

To conclude, the phenomenon of preference for foreign films is caused by some aforementioned factors. Taking all these points into accountability, I strongly advocate that financial help from governments could help to raise the quality of local movies and allow them to compete with foreign movies which are currently dominant in the market.