In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

These days, childhood obesity has become a typical sign of deteriorating public health over the world. In this regard, some people believe that governments should take full responsibility to find the solutions for this problem. While I side with this opinion, I also agree that not only authorities but also parents play a vital role in dealing with the issue.

On the one hand, there are a host of reasons why governments have to assume responsibility for children’s obesity. First and foremost, there are not enough public green spaces provided by them in some cities. Most policymakers are inclined to put a priority on meeting housing demands because of the ever-increasing population in metropolises. Urban areas, therefore, might be turned into concrete jungles with blocks and apartments as well. In a long run, authorities fail to invest in constructing parks and public open spaces, which leads to the fact that citizens, especially young people, might not have a chance to engage in physical activities. Furthermore, enterprises are likely to be allowed to make exaggerated and false claims about their products, which are shown in TV commercials on a daily basis. Those, consequently, attract and encourage children to eat unhealthy food with insufficient amount of fiber and nutrients.

On the other hand, I believe that the duty to combat obesity in children should not fall on the government alone because parents are, for good reasons, a greater source of influence on children’s lifestyle. One of the main causes that make children overweight and unhealthy is the choice of daily diet by their parents. Most adults might be snowed under with work and lead a hectic life, which renders them fail to prepare home-cooked meals with sufficient nutrients for their families. They, as a consequence, tend to opt for convenience and unhealthy food as well, which may lead to their kids’ obesity.

To conclude, governments should of course do what they can to curb the childhood obesity epidemic in modern society. Also, I strongly believe that parents need to take responsibility for their children’s unhealthy condition as well.