Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

Together with global development, many countries have made a lot of progress to bring their citizens a wealthy life. Yet, it still has the dark side of the society where there is a giant gap between rich and poor people. From my perspective, this phenomenon exerts negative impacts on our society and human development as the rich become richer while the opposite is true for the poor.

To begin with, the rich-poor gap gives rise to/ culminates in social injustice and an inexorable rise in crime. Due to the enormous gap between rich and poor people, if a person is born in an affluent family, they will receive many wishes from everyone. Conversely, they will be treated unfairly and even looked down upon when living in an impoverished place. This problem can inhibit human development, especially young children who are susceptible to mental well-being as they are discriminated against and isolated by other friends. Thus, they cannot improve themselves to be a good person and a country will not lead an all round development in the future. Moreover, it’s my conviction that most criminals come from a difficult background. Since they aren’t provided with enough conditions to study in any academic institutions and don’t have any competence , they will, in all likelihood, stop at nothing to make ends meet, even carry out illegal activities. Therefore, it will pose a threat to our safety and social life.

In the face of a growing gap between the poor and rich, there is plenty of room for different pragmatic measures to minimize this situation. The first and most important thing is that, people had better endeavour to live in harmony with each other in society. The poor should make a great effort to lead a better life while rich people should not look down upon others and should lend others a hand when they are in desperate need. Finally, the government should organize many campaigns and volunteer activities to support the poor to improve their quality of life.

In conclusion, social injustice and an exponential rise in crime is attributed to the gap between the two classes of society. As a consequence, different down-to-earth methods must be taken as soon as possible to ameliorate this phenomenon.