Many people say the gap between the rich and the poor people is wider, as rich people become richer, poor people become poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address these problems?

It is true that the wealth inequality has always existed and even soared in recent decades. Although there will be undoubtedly some consequences of this trend, governments can take steps to mitigate these problems.

There are various issues potentially caused by wealth gap. First, the inequality fosters and increases crime rate, including various criminal forms such as robberies, thieves and riots. When the gap grows extreme, the number of people living under the poverty line will go up due to increasing inflation and average living cost. This acts as an incentive for criminal behaviours since this is the last resort for the disadvantaged people struggling to meet their basic needs. Another compelling problem is that wealth gap leads to unsustainable economic growth. Due to the costly tuition fees, the tertiary education access is nearly out of reach to the lower-class families. As a result, the proportion of unskilled labours in domestic workforce would rise, which acts as a deterrent of business investments.

Nevertheless, there have been many solutions for wealth inequality. First, by imposing higher income tax on the upper and middle-class households, governments would raise enormous welfare budgets allocated for the poor. If the state welfare and allowances can provide their standard living, there will be fewer incentives of robbing and stealing. Second, in order for the poor to be accessible to higher education, free educational institutions, which are granted by the government or non-profit organizations, should be highly encouraged. This has a significant impact on not only beneficiaries, but also the economic development.