Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In a society that values education today, having access to tertiary education is a life-changing opportunity for many students. However, when people were asked who should be accepted into colleges, community opinion is polarized into two main streams: one that favours universities should only accept young students with the highest grades, while others believe every student, regardless of age and academic ability, should be given equal educational opportunities. This essay will discuss both points of view and state my perspective on this topic.

First of all, high school students with higher scores are more deserved to attend university. For the reason that education at university levels often includes some insightful studies and research that require certain basic backgrounds in the fields. Therefore, some schools have been only enrolling students who possess terrible learning achievements resulting in high-quality undergraduates. For example, many well-known universities in American, like Harvard or Yale, where is known to have the strictest standards and requirements for university admission in the world. This helps to maintain the quality of education as well as the quality of students after graduation.

As sensible and beneficial as it is, many people oppose the aforementioned ideas since they believe that approaching education is a basic human right granted to everyone, regardless of age, gender, or religion. In addition, pupils' academic record in middle and high school is unable to reflect sufficient information about their scholarly competence. Hence, it is unfair and unjust for underperforming students to not have the opportunity to broaden their horizons. For instance, most prestigious colleges in Vietnam, whose admission requirements are not high, with the goals is to allow everyone to have access to university resources available to every student who has the opportunity to succeed.

In conclusion, although only accepting students with high marks is advantageous in some ways, I believe providing university places for all students is more just and beneficial in the long run.