Many people think that interviews are not the best way to assess the suitability of a candidate for a position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a consensus among people that interviews are not the best method to determine whether an applicant suitable for the job or not. Personally, I am in favor of this view since there are other components to know about the suitability of a candidate.

First, interview is just a small part in assessing the ability of a candidate. Since there are many factors that can affect the performace of the candidate, hence, employers cannot get an overview about the ability of the candidate. To illustrate, some candidates, although brilliant, still feel nervous or confused when answering the questions, which make employers can pick those candidates out of the list of recruitment. As a result, employers can easily lose excellent applicants. Second, in the interview part, the time is also limited from 30 minutes to one hour, thus, employers will not have enough time to gain a crucial insight into the ability of the candidate. For instance, there are still many questions that need being asked about the fields which candidates apply for, but due to limited time, employers do not have a chance to ask them.

However, I opine that there are many key factors contributing to the decision whether the candidate suitable or not. First of all, formal academic qualifications play an indispensible part in the process of recruitment. Given the 21st century witnessed radical changes in technological advancements and breakthroughs. Therefore, all physical demanding jobs are carried out by automation, leaving people with highly skilled jobs. Hence, besides interviews, employers have to recruit employees who have specialized knowledge and skills. Moreover, life experience and personal qualities are also essential factors that can be neglected. It goes without saying that having life experiences can assist employees to deal with difficulties in the job and increase the productivity. Also, employees who have negative personalities such as dishonesty, for example, can affect the development of the company.

In conclusion, I subscribe to the view that interview is not the most effective way to assess whether the candidate suitable for the job or not, instead, there are many factors that contribute to the process of recruitment in terms of life experiences, personal virtues and intellectual ability.