Many people think that some individuals are naturally good leader. Others think that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views.

It is true that some people are likely born to be leaders, therefore it is commonly believed that leadership is a gifted skill. However, others believe that talent is what could be trained and leadership skills are no exception. Both sides of the issue should be analyzed before I give my opinion.

On the one hand, it is understandable why people think that only some special individuals can be good leaders. Most people often judge others by appearance and mentality, which are influenced by genes and these factors are also essential characteristics to decide a potential leader. For instance, plenty of voters believe that competence is the most integral contribution/quality of a politician, therefore if they perceive someone competent, they are likely to vote for that candidate. Intelligence is another important element of a successful manager because it allows the manager to think independently and respond quickly in any circumstances. Abraham Lincoln can be a good example. He had no chance to access the full-time educational system because of poverty, but he soon proved to be an intelligent child as he gained most knowledge from self-study. His brilliant intellect then helps him lead the United States through its Civil War and become one of the greatest presidents in history.

Although necessary qualities of a leader seem to be inborn, some still believe that leadership skills can be gained by training and experience. The reason for that is people’s behavior can be changed by the environment. For example, as ordinary teenagers joint programs for global youth leaders, they have a chance to present their ideas and cooperate with world leaders, which gives them requisite skills for high-ranking positions in the future. Besides, team work, which is one of the most vital leadership skills requires individuals to spend much time and effort to work with various kinds of people, even they are gifted leaders or not. In fact, all managers always learn the way to inspire employees to share new ideas and balance conflicts between members of a team if they want to run a business unsuccessfully.

In conclusion, there are many ways to become a leader and I am convinced that leadership skills can be learned if learners are enthusiastic.