Many people think that students should be allowed to choose the subjects that they study in school, whereas others fell that they should study a set curriculum.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern times, getting a good education has become increasingly important. There are those who say that students should study a prescribed syllabus however others believe that students should get the opportunity to choose their subjects. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are numerous reasons why people think that students should be allowed to choose their coursework at school. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favor of this idea is that if students can choose their course which they want to study, they will do better in those subjects. In those consequences, they acquire vast knowledge on that particular courses and since they know plenty of certain sectors, their career prospects are inevitable in that field. Secondly, choosing a course by yourself is encouraging as well as motivating. In other words, it helps them to study with interests. Without a sense of satisfaction often leads to quitting education.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that students should study a set of the syllabus. The prime reason why people think that this is a good idea is that a syllabus is created in such a way where students can explore al the major and minor courses. This helps them to gain wholesome knowledge in interesting subjects as well as the minimum required knowledge in a less interesting course. Furthermore, students should study a prescribed curriculum as it makes their study smoothly. If some students choose one course which is not interested in others it will disrupt the study period. That's how the student will be affected much. So they have to follow a set of curriculum.

In conclusion, this is a topic that raises strong passions on both sides of the argument. However, I strongly recommend that students should follow a set of syllabus in their study period.