Many people use distance-learning programs (study materials, the internet, and so on) to study at home, but some think that it cannot bring the same benefits of attending school, college or university. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are concerned about whether online learning, with the aid of several programs, brings about the same advantages as does attending schools or tertiary institutions or not. I completely disagree with this idea since I believe receiving distance education has more drawbacks far outweighing its seeming benefits.

First, it goes without saying that students have to undergo radical changes in sharp contrast with the conventional way of studying. In other words, it is the distractions and inconveniences, such as technical issues or disturbing notifications from technology gadgets, that could act as a hindrance to students' productivity. As a consequence, this would lead to the downgrading of knowledge acquirement. According to a recent survey taken place in the University of Oxford, online lectures are not attended as actively and enthusiastically as their offline counterparts. In addition, it is undeniable that online education somewhat causes detriments to pupils' wholesomeness. In particular, distance learning possibly results in some physical ailments such as eyestrain or postural syndromes, thus negatively affecting students' mental wellness.

That is not to say that studying using new methods, such as through the Internet or joining online courses, would not be beneficial. Students, of course, do not have to pay the expensive textbook fees that is beneficial for students with difficult circumstances. Moreover, students can save the commuting expenses and time, especially if they come from the countryside. Nevertheless, this only serves its purpose only when pupils maintain good self-discipline, which is not variably the case for all individuals.

In conclusion, I would argue that it would be better off going back to the conventional but highly efficient educational approach as long as online education is still a way off before being able to prove its worth.