Many people use social media every day to keep in touch with friends and get social news. Do you think the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a fact that social media nowadays is a necessary tool for people to connect with others and acquire news. However, there are many persuasive arguments that social media causes depression and contains a variety of fake news that directly affects people.

On the one hand, social media helps users have a relaxing time by receiving news and chatting with friends. Citizens just need a mobile phone or laptop with internet and create an account to get the latest news without paying any fees. For instance, students at university are usually hectic during break times. They can take their mobile phones to join social media or read the news on Facebook and Instagram. They can also get lots of information about the world.

Nevertheless, people use social media too much because they have psychological problems. They feel difficult to make new friends, which makes them more vulnerable to being exploited by criminals who steal money and information through social media. Some of the content on social media is not suitable for the public, which means the government cannot control it. For example, many students at university move from the countryside to the city and lack interpersonal skills, and are always in sight of crime. Furthermore, toxic friends from social media can lead students in an adverse way and drive them against their parents.

To conclude, although there are some disadvantages to using social media, the benefits of social media are outweighed as it helps people in many aspects of life