In many public places, the use of secret video cameras is being increased with the aim to reduce crime, but some people believe that this restricts individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased video secret security outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that video surveillance has become popular in many cities nowadays due to the purpose of reducing crimes. However, some individuals argue that these solutions will create a restriction for personal privacy. This essay will illustrate both the pros and cons of surveillance cameras in public and express my personal view.

Increase of significant crimes in public places has become a controversial matter nowadays. Many crimes like kidnapping, drug dealings and murders are common in public places in recent years. I strongly agree that CCTV security camera system in the public is more useful for security departments in the country to find and recognize the crimes and the criminals who attempt to do. It is obvious that most of the shops and firms are being monitored by video recording system to reduce the shoplifting, as well as robberies and criminals, are less likely to commit crimes if they notice they are being watched. In addition, police departments find it easy to arrest the offenders without huge effort who are already committed to the crime in public places. Moreover, most of the crimes which happen in recently are solved and confirmed because of the secret video cameras which installed in the public places. For example, the terrorist attacks happen in Sri Lanka recently, security video cameras are directly useful for confirming and identifying the people who convict for the situation

On the other hand, the development of the surveillance camera system has some drawback as well. Many people find this as an uncomfortable situation when the recording of their every single movement is a restriction of their privacy and freedom of their life. At the same time, some pictures and scenes which are taken from CCTV are publishing and sharing on social networks can be inappropriate to the society.

In conclusion, my personal point is that Although, if there any potential drawback on security cameras in the public, they are useful for ensure the security of the citizens and always need to be encouraged to promote and installed in every nook and corner to protect the society