In many societies, foraging has been a leisure activity enjoyed by some individuals. Foraging involves searching and gathering wild food resources such as fruits, nuts, mushrooms, and edible plants. Proponents argue that foraging is not only a recreational pursuit but also a way to connect with nature and promote sustainability. However, critics argue that foraging can have negative impacts on the environment and may not be a suitable leisure activity for everyone.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, foraging becomes not only a leisure activity for people to find balances and to escape from daily exhausted life but also a way to reconnect with nature and wildlife. In contrast, critics do not support that statement, and foragers are thought to affect seriously on the wild environment. I definitely agree with the first statement. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of foraging, plus support the first point.

On the one hand, foraging is claimed to help people reconnect wild nature and maintain balance. According to the research in German in 2021, 85 percent people agreed that foraging has changed their life significantly, while more than 93 percent of them have obtained at least a benefit from it. During the Covid-19 pandemic, many people dealt with various mental problems: stress, boring and anxious. Fortunately, foraging brings their mood back and creates tons of positive impacts by just simply spending time walking through the forest and searching edible plants such as: nettles, berries, mushrooms, etc. In addition, since these foods are completely free, foraging helps reduce monthly food expenses during the high inflation period. Moreover, it is believed that this type of food refers to "super food", which contains high nutrition, vitamins and is organic. Consequently, people stand on the other side have contrasting looks at this activity.

Critics contend that foraging is devastating the wild life and ecosystem, but I disagree that foragers will make catastrophically negative impacts. Although foraging has seen a slightly increasing in the last 3-years (from 2019). However, statistics point out that foraging may not rapidly develop in a short period of time to be out of control. Firstly, in Hanoi and in other big Asia’s cities, there are not many forests or places suitable for citizens to scavenge. Indeed, if people want to forage, they may be quite active because they must go to countryside or botanical garden, which is too far away. For those reasons, foraging is suitable for some people who are active, have time and right place. Imagine that you only have one or two day at the weekend to replenish lost energy after a whole long, hard-working week at your company, most people will spend that time to take a long sleep and laze around. But these people don’t cause any threat to this activity.

In conclusion, foraging is a helpful activity for people who’d loved to maintain stability life, and surrounded by nature. Moreover, foraging won’t cause any serious impact in the nearby future. I will always support this activity.