Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In a modern consumer society, the social phenomenon of prominent athletes who make a great deal of money via the presentation for a sports brand. Although this trend reaps an array of beneficial impacts on sports players, there are several downsides need taking into consideration.

On the one hand, it is undeniable to claim that the enormous assets of being representatives of a renowned sports player. First and foremost, being able to revenue the income of these brands is evident by availing the prestige of well-known sportsmen. The reasons for that is consumers have a tendency to squander their fortune to purchase the products of sport-players by virtue of giving their admiration to their eminent athletes. For example, Nike is one of the most ubiquitous sports brands around the world, by taking Ronaldo for the endorsement of their goods, Nike is able to lucrative from this project and gets the new high of their success. In other words, this trend could be a perfect foundation for prominent athletes to earn a fortune by various types of endorsement contracts. For these reasons, it is when their success in previous contracts which draws audiences to pay regards in their products and also makes a contribution to enhancing their reputation to get more well-paid contracts. Thus, their profits would be lifted up to make different needs in their life.

On the contrary, despite these advantages, the downsides of this trend always exist for these celebrities. The first reason is to influence of celebrities’ reputation if the products of their brand get the unacceptable quality. In fact, in this case, this problem not only exerts detrimental impacts on their brand, but also these celebrities such as bearing the burnt of numerous crisis from the buyer. Consequently, a number of consumers tend to get frustrated through this problem or even throw these celebrities’ career path in disarray. Another fact is the work of these celebrities could be gotten sidetracked by the endorsement of sporting goods. To be more specific, lucrative profits can be fiercely intriguing to them and provoke them to go the extra mile in finding more contracts which spurs their inevitable problem of being prone to prioritize this work and leading to their career to be ruined.

For the advantages and disadvantages mentioned above, while this phenomenon brings a lot of drawbacks, the benefits are far from being impractical.