Most of the people advocate students to take a year gap to either travel or work and gain experience before starting their tertiary education. There are various factors that are to be considered before taking an decision.

To embark on, taking a year gap before university education plays quite major role. Firstly, by travelling overseas student can gain invaluable experience from out side of the home grounds. They can meet various people, make new friends, learn new cultures and habituate to new food and expand their horizons. Significantly, students who start to work will be knowing the value of money and spends money wisely. For instance, student who work 8-9 hours a day and earn some bread a the end of the day for his work, he/she will not spend parents money unnecessarily for luxury because they know the pain and hard work behind the earnings.

On the other hand, some students who go far from home to explore world may feel homesick, resulting in mental stress and depression. For instance, a person who goes far from home grounds and suddenly remembers their family feeling homesick, after realizing that he could not go back to them until a year he might end up in some kind of stress. Additionally, people who start to work parallelly they earn money and get used to that work and forgets the further education, finally ending up as a dropout.

To sum up, it is an good idea for the students to take an year gap prior to their university education. The difficulties and worst case scenarios that students will be faced are also to be shown importance.