Many teenagers now have their own smart phone. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, having personal smartphones is very common for many adolescents. While iPhones and other devices can empower teenager's safety, I believe that overuse of such gadgets results in distraction at the time of their study.

The main advantage to owning a smartphone, when a person is young, is that it constantly monitors the location of young people through the cutting-edge technology of GPS. This location data is programmed to be shared with their parents who can get assured of their safety. For example, there are numerous applications available in a smartphone for parents to download the feeds of the location data of their children's smartphones. Additionally, with the help of smartphones teenagers can also mitigate the risk of the emergency by dialling 911 when they see any sign of danger. This enables them to be in the safe hands of police officials in no time. Despite this, I believe that these devices provoke the scenario of losing concentration for teenagers while they study.

Overusing smartphones for an extended period of time means that children involve very little in the study. The other minute, the notification rings out from such devices and young people get addicted to checking the notifications every time they ring. This leads to poor outcomes of the education system even after spending huge amount of budget on this sector by the government. For example, in one study of Oxford University, it has been reported that the children are now 20% more likely to fail in their study than kids 20 years ago since they are now able to carry their own mobile phones. I believe that this makes overconsumption of smartphones dangerous and they should be used in moderation.

In conclusion, although smartphones can help children improve their safety, they also prevent them from keeping enough concentration while studying and they should, therefore, only be used sparingly.