It is common that different courses are offered in addition to major courses in university. While some students prefer to focus on their qualification study, I believe that the benefits of comprehensive study outweigh the drawbacks.

The negative impacts of learning other subjects instead of major ones are often discussed in terms of time consuming and uselessness. Some students argue that the most significant issue is to study and get qualified for a degree. However, they have ignored the core mission of education is to help students develop in all aspects including virtue, wisdom and health. This is why the abundant courses are provided in universities. It is well worth the time and energy taking these courses and exploring in different directions.

There are two main benefits to learn about subjects besides main courses. Firstly, content varying from our major subjects can arouse our interest. We are prone to get bored while studying something continuously. If we go on doing this, our learning efficiency will fall. In this situation, some relaxing courses can contribute to refresh our mind such as sports and artwork admiration. Secondly, comprehensive knowledge is quite useful in most careers. Nowadays, those who get a good command of over one subjects are preferred in the employment. Almost everyone has to cooperate with other departments to finish work tasks. People with comprehensive knowledge are better at collaborative work between different fields.

In conclusion, I am convinced that learning about comprehensive subjects will have a positive impact on our study, in spite of the time it takes up.