Many young people choose to take a year off between finish school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life like this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Upon graduating from high school, teenagers in some countries are urged to take a gap year before continuing to study at a university. Some youngsters will take a year's break to travel while others tend to get jobs to gain more experience. Although this new trend brings many benefits, some negative aspects will also be considered.

The option to take a year off straight after finishing high school is attractive for several reasons. Firstly, by travelling, young people will stand a good chance of broadening their horizons as well as creating memories of a lifetime. For example, students who travel to the UK get a chance to mingle with the way citizens here drive the car on the left-hand side. Secondly, those who decide to find work could learn about the true value of money, and since they will likely be mature enough, they will be able to live independently on their own income. This may help them to obtain a lot of real experience and skills in their chosen prospective profession.

On the other hand, I believe that there are particular serious drawbacks when taking a year off. One negative aspect of this trend is that most of the students are too young to travel by themselves and this might put them in more dangerous situations. Another advantage of this trend is that being a year behind academically might make students lose their good study habits and sense of discipline that they had when they were in a formal academic structure. Moreover, teenagers might find study is too bored and will cut it away since they think that they are making a lot of money.

To cut the nutshell, taking a gap year between high school and university has both positive and negative aspects, I believe that students who spend a year off would obtain a lot of real experience.