Many young people today know more and more international pop and movie stars than about famous people in the history in their country. Why is this? What can be done to increase one’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

It is admitted that nowadays numerous young people tend to have more interests in public celebrities than historic figures in the past. I would discuss some possible causes leading to this scenario as well as potential measures to tackle with it.

With the unprecedented development of social media and technology, the popularity and coverage of international pop figures have been widely spreading, which contribute to young people’s zeal towards pop stars and their ignorance to the national historic ones. It is common that foreign celebrities’ lives and styles are currently grabbing the headlines of most of newspapers, especially the online ones on social media platforms. In fact, the young generations spend much time on surfing social media, they are likely to be exposed to ubiquitous posts unveiling facts or scandals of famous singers or actors, thus they tend to be fascinated about such topics. Moreover, this situation is caused by the tedious teaching method of history subject at school. Indeed, history is not the interest of the majority of students, leading to the fact that students will tolerate the utter boredom if instructor just deliver in conventional and obsolete way.

However, this can come across with various potential approaches to attract the young generations to historic heroes. It is essential to recall proud victories and stories with majestic heroes or creditable people in history by promoting agency and film makers to produce video or movies based on such moments. As a result, youngsters will pay more attention on history as well as will gain more knowledge about the particularly historical events, especially when their idols casted as the main roles. Additionally, the teaching method in history classroom should be adjusted and adapted to the change of modern education in order to arouse students’ interests. Teachers can make the lesson lively and more appealing by displaying vivid images, historical documentary clips or asking students to remake their favorite part of a specific historical event as an assignment instead of verbal explanation.

In conclusion, the common coverage of celebrities on social media and inappropriate teaching way at school cause the imbalanced dispersion between pop stars and famous ones in history. Nevertheless, it can be dealt with by the above suggested solutions.