As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalisation. Some people fear that globalisation will inevitably lead the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples your own knowledge experience.

<p style="white-space: normal;">Globalisation has made the world a smaller place. It has brought people and various cultures close together through the advent of various technologies. The is that this may lead to total loss of cultural identity is one. I partially agree with this view.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">Mass communication methods such as the internet, various social media websites and newspapers have made it easy to communicate and talk to person in any remote corner of the world. Information on any topic can be easily obtained. As a result of this the herd mentality is rapidly and what is considered applicable by a majority of the population is what most people follow. For instance, most people around the world now consider jeans and t-shirts as their wardrobe staples while the traditional outfit are almost never worn.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">Developments in transportation technology has also allowed people to travel quickly find any place in the world. As a result of this they can learn easily about various cultures and beliefs in other countries and disseminate it easily when they return home leading to more homogeneity.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">However, the reason I only partially agree is because while globalisation merges cultures and people together it also makes people realise and value their own unique identities and traditions. As a result people try their level best to preserve this cultural identity in order to keep it from completely disappearing.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">In conclusion, I would say that while globalisation is vital in the present day and has numerous positive effects it is important to ensure that it does not completely overtake the varied cultures, ideas and traditions that are present all over the world.</p>