As mass communication continues to grow, the world is becoming more globalized. Some people believe that this will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the growth of mass communication and the rise in globalization, many a person reckons this will decrease cultural identity in the future. From my perspective, all mass communication is a rudimentary tool helping everyone broaden their horizon and integrate the other cultures if properly manipulated by not only governments but also society.

Were mass communication not to be controlled by governments and society, it would pose a serious threat to their national culture. The youngsters at the impressionable age play a crucial role in sustaining and developing their national culture; however, with the proliferation of mass communication, they are easily integrated by other nations' traditions. For instance, some foreign entertainment shows spreading like the fire to the young generation create more trends that can impact on human’s life. This means that they will have an idea that their current tradition is outmoded and needs to be replaced by the new tradition. As the result, their culture may be decreased and integrated to foregin tradition day by day only. Therefore, without manipulating mass control may lead to the loss of culture.

On the other hand, If well manipulated, mass communication would pave the new pathway for nation’s development. It gives citizens a hand to broaden their horizon and gain deeper insight into foreign culture which they never had a chance to do before. This is to say that under- control programs which governments and society permit to widely broadcast become the greatest source of inspiration and knowledge for everyone. People may apply all their understanding into developing their life and their nation like the knowledge of economy, science, and so on which they gain from the contents of mass communication. Above all, governments and society play an empirical role in supervising mass communication so it may become the best source of knowledge for everyone without detrimental influences.

In conclusion, mass communication needs to be controlled by governments and people to prevent losing native tradition and also use it to educate not only the youngsters but also citizens.