Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, many a disease has a root cause from absorbing the high level of sugar in food and drink products. Encouraging everyone not to consume more sweetened commodities by increasing their price may have some disadvantages for the national economy and healthcare activists possess more effective ways to raise people's awareness.

In a context of economic collapse, should manufacturers increase the price of their sweetened products, the sugary product consumption rate will drop down. To be specific, consumers who spend their money to purchase products containing sugar for their children decide not to burn their money for those anymore so that the revenue and profit of the manufacturers will decrease, which may harm the economy. As the companies that produce those sugary products could not earn money, many of the employees may be fired and the tax for the nation may decrease. Therefore, any changes in the balanced economy make some un-avoiding consequences so that they need to keep the balance by holding the affordable price of not only sugary products but also all products in the market.

Besides, the rise of sugary products’ price may not affect someone who is sugarholic and the healthcare activists possess more efficient methods to raise people’s consciousness. This means that their methods might have a wide impact on the community but it does not contain detrimental effects on the economy. For instance, they set up more workshops to propagandize for everyone to crystal clear adverse effects to their health such as they can get serious diseases like obesities, diabetes, and so forth. Above all, propagandic programs may have more effect like spreading the fire to the community more than mandatory methods.

In my opinion, the raise of sweetened products’ price is not a wise method because it still has more drawbacks than the normal ways easily used to approach everyone.