The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The mass communications industries play a pivotal role in the dissemination of broadcasts regarding current events, for public awareness, be it a positive or a negative report. It is undeniably true that broadcasts, which contain positive news, bring the viewers or listeners a sense of positivity in this chaotic world. However, I completely disagree that broadcasts should contain more positive reports, as reports about actual events should not be filtered and only accurately detailed information should be shared for the people to obtain transparency.

On one hand, people could find life inspirations out of the reported good news and positive reports bring back some individual’s lost faith in humanity. Moreover, sharing of good news makes the people believe that despite the chaos, wickedness, and cruelty, still, there is goodness about this world. To illustrate, “ Good News” is an exclusive segment from a famous news television channel from the Philippines which basically reports “Good Samaritan” acts of random individuals in the country. One report from the segment tells about a taxi driver who earns little for a living, and has 5 children, returned back to its owner a left money case with one hundred thousand peso inside, without hesitations. Indeed, this kind of report makes us realize that ethical behaviors still exist, thus, bringing back our lost faith in humanity.

On the other hand, without negative reports, transparency cannot be gained, therefore, news broadcast should not include more positive reports, but include every single event that had happened, even if it tells about the worst. In addition, mass communications industries should not be bias, therefore, filtering of information should be in avoidance to cover every detail that the public must be socially aware of. Moreover, unfairly prejudiced media coverage conceals the truth, thus, making the sharing of information unverifiable and vague.

To conclude, it is certain that positive broadcasts bring positivity to people, however, it is not appropriate that the media would tell more about the good side, when in reality, what is actually happening is the worst. Negative reports should be broadcasted alongside of the positive ones to provide transparency and fact-based information to the public.