Governments should make more effort to promote alternative energy sources of energy.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued by some that the government should take more initiative in the promotion of alternative energy sources such as those that are renewable. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement, as I personally believe that the government is the authorized body to advocate the utilization of sustainable energy sources.

It is by no means certain that the massive surge in the number of energy consumers, in turn, increases the demand in energy consumption, thus limiting if not totally disappearing the availability of the primary energy sources that are currently in use such as fossil fuels. The forming of fossil fuels like petroleum, coal and natural gas takes millions of years, which means their present supplies can be depleted just before the new ones can be readily available, thus, risking them to be no longer accessible if the needs continued to rise. In addition, the burning of fossil fuels produces large amounts of carbon dioxide, which causes a serious environmental concern known as global warming. Having that said, the government should advocate more to promote the utilization of alternative energy sources over the non- renewable ones to be able to meet the increasing energy consumption demands and to help reduce the global greenhouse gas emissions, to save mother earth.

To further elaborate, the government has the capability to fund researches on how to wisely and feasibly utilize available renewable energy sources that are not environmentally harmful such as wind, solar and water power. To illustrate, various researches in the Philippines came up with the conclusion that the country’s location, being near the Asia-Pacific monsoon belt, makes it an ideal site for installing wind turbines, therefore, the government in partnership with some non-government organization s, funded the installation of wind turbines in some part of Northern Luzon, particularly Ilocos Region. Moreover, the government can also create a partnership with businessmen to provide big discounts for companies, households or individuals who desire to purchase solar panels for the utilization of solar power during the daytime, thereby, decreasing the consumption of fossil fuels. Furthermore, the government has the authority to sanction individuals who irresponsibly polluting bodies of water, thus, preserving the water for electricity consumption through the use of hydropower.

In conclusion, the government has to make more effort to promote patronization of environmentally friendly energy sources to be able to meet the increasing energy demands without totally consuming the primary energy sources, thereby saving them for future generation use and thereby saving mother earth. Nevertheless, it can be made more possible when the governing body will work in partnership with every individual, who are actually the major consumers of energy.