Some people believe that mobile phones should be banned in public, especially in public transport, restaurants and cinemas. Others think that people should be allowed to use mobile phones anywhere.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Cellular phones are considered one of the major breakthroughs in technology that accelerated these days’ means of communication. As this electronic device is handy and mobile, it is by no means certain that it can be found on every individual’s possessions. It is claimed by some that cellular phones should be prohibited in some areas, particularly in public places, while others believe that mobile phones should be used in many places, without prohibitions. This essay will discuss both of the above-mentioned arguments.

One on hand, public commuters who are carelessly using their cell phones increase the risk of theft incidents and road accidents, therefore, it should be prohibited when commuting. Moreover, cellular phones should not be used while a film in a theater house is ongoing, as these devices are becoming a medium of illegal acts as piracy. In addition, during a family or business gathering in a restaurant, frequent use of mobile phones affects focus and serves as a distraction, which makes the family member or colleagues’ presence only physically but not mentally. Having said that, it is somehow beneficial that the use of phones in some places should be in prohibition.

On the other hand, disallowance of cellular phones has its own risks and drawbacks. First, if mobile phones would be totally banned in these areas, the transferring of information during cases of emergencies would be disrupted. Second, it limits communication among business partners or family members who are not able to join the gathering. Third, one cannot consistently update their significant others regarding their current locations if cellular phones would be totally prohibited while commuting. Therefore, cellular phones should be allowed to use, anytime and anywhere, as it is not appropriate to ban the use of them, in serious circumstances.

Having elaborated both sides, in my perspective, the use of mobile phones in public areas should not be banned, however, rules and regulations should be imposed and applied to avoid the occurrence of untoward incidents. For example, public faculties can arise with a “Cellphone using Zone” where an individual can freely and safely use their cell phones when needed. In addition, “cell phone off” or “in silent mode” rule could be applied as it encourages respect among every user. Most importantly, responsible use of mobile phones should be every individual’s initiative, taking in mind that these breakthroughs in technology are helpful, only when used correctly.

In conclusion, the prohibition of mobile phones in some public places is an excellent idea for some reasons, however, it is not totally applicable in some circumstances. Therefore, in my opinion, certain rules and regulations, along with some limitations, and the responsible use of cellular phones should be taken more into consideration rather than totally banning this device.