Some say that dangerous sports should be banned by governments while others think that the freedom of people to choose their sport must be respected.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, extreme sports that could often lead to threatening one’s life are being patronized, regardless of the participant’s purpose. It is being argued by some that since dangerous sports could cause severe injuries, the government should then do the efforts to subject it in prohibition. Others, however, claim that it is an individual’s free will to choose upon what kind of sports despite its extremity, they should engage themselves with. Having that said, this essay aims to discuss both sides of the arguments.

On one hand, in relation to the evolving social relationships in this modern world, satisfaction from challenging activities as extreme sports has become a common trend. Extreme sports that involve physical contact such as rugby, football or boxing tend to be an interesting sport to any age group. As these kinds of sports are being performed with a lot of physical contacts, it is by no means certain that serious physical injuries as head concussions and fractures could not be avoided by playing these games. These kinds of injuries, depending on severity could possibly change a person’s life as it could make one’s body seriously injured, paralyzed, comatose, and even worst, get killed. Having said the risks, the government is expected to put these games in prohibition.

On the other hand, living in a world where everybody has the right to choose, it is an individual’s preference and will to choose which kind of sports they should join. Regardless of the purpose, a person’s time, commitment, and dedication to attend training are required to succeed in these games. To gain physical and personal improvement, discipline is being developed and showcased. Nevertheless, though these sports are life-threatening, self-discipline is being enhanced at the same time, therefore, also preparing an individual to face even harder struggles in life.

Having mentioned both sides, it is undeniably true that extreme sports are both life-threatening and life succeeding. With that in mind, in my perspective, the government should not prohibit people to join some dangerous sports, however, safety measures should be applied. For example, a “physically fit to join” medical certificate should be required. In line with that, a person should undergo a thorough medical assessment from a certified physician first, before they could be allowed to join the team, this ensures that they are physically healthy for a strenuous activity. In addition, the compulsory use of protective safety sports gears should be imposed, thus, “no protective gears, no play” rule should be applied. Football helmets, knee and shoulder pads, mouth guards and the like protective sports gears should be readily available to be used by every player.

In conclusion, any extreme activities as dangerous sports could lead people to danger, but that is not a reason for these sports to be prohibited, therefore, safety measures are to be applied, to prevent, or at least minimize injuries that these sports could cause its joiners.