PROPOSITION: SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT WHAT CHILDREN WATCH AFFECTS THEIR BEHAVIOR WHILE OTHERS THINK THAT THE LONG HOURS IN FRONT OF TELEVISION IS THE REASON FOR THEIR BEHAVIOR.

PROMPT: DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION

Televisions are among the appliances for entertainment that are compact and affordable, thus televisions in different shapes and sizes are being in possession of every household. It is being argued by some that watching television affects the behavior of youngsters, others, however, believe that the time spent in viewing such, is the one causing the behavioral changes. The writer would elaborate on both arguments and aims to cite an opinion in this essay.

On one hand, television shows entertain every age group, particularly youngsters. However, a variety of shows from children to adult restricted shows could be easily accessed by different television channels. News broadcasts that report about violence and crime such as murder and rape could greatly affect a child’s innocence, thereby dangerously risking the child to commit the same crime at an early age. Moreover, the longer the time a child spends in watching this type of television shows, could cause a greater impact on their behavior, as longer exposure leads to witnessing an enormous number of age-restricted shows. Having said these, children should be strictly guided by the parents in the prevention of undesirable conduct changes.

On the other hand, the type of shows the youngsters are watching and the time a child spends on viewing could not be considered the major factors that affect a child’s behavior, instead, the behavior is exponentially affected by the environment the children are being exposed to. For example, in a home where peace could not be found and whose parents are consistently fighting and shouting in front of the offspring, give a child the thinking that expressions of anger could be done not privately and conflicts could not be addressed by peaceful conversations. In addition, school bullying greatly affects a child’s interpersonal and social conduct. For instance, bullied children grew up either socially detached and/or difficult to handle. Furthermore, a youngster raised in an environment without a parent or an adult to guide them usually becomes confused as they are not trained to identify and separate noble acts from prohibited ones. Admittedly, without enlightenment from a guardian, what a child experiences and the kind of environment a kid is being exposed to are the paramount reason that affects a child’s behavior.

To recapitulate, with strict parental guidance, the variation of television shows and the length of time spent for viewing do not considerably affect a child’s behaving way. On the contrary, in my perspective, what crucially influence the children’s conduct are the environment being exposed to and the absence of guidance from a well-grown individual who could properly explain and differentiate right from wrong. Thus, environment modifications like privately dealing with parental conflicts, prevention of bullying among age groups and availability of adults to guide the children are beneficial to address these misconducts.