Rote learning is long being adobted by many schools as a method of study. Most of people believe that frequent repetition can help students to get good grades, but I hold the view that it is not beneficial to their development.

Memorizing by repetition can easily lead to the consequense that students lose interst to study, and this has bad effect on their academic performance. When students recite things again and again, they are more likely to find it boring to study at school. This is because they have developed bad impression for study after received massive reciting assignments. If students lose confidence and enthusiasm, they will not work hard to pursure their study, and this can commonly result in poor grades. They will be less likely to success especially if they do not perform well in college entrance examination.

Moreover, if students learn by rote, they will value the answers of questions but neglect problem-solving process, so that lose their own thoughts. Memorizing seems effective when preparing for the test, so students may get customed to this method and ignore independent thinking. For instance, when a question apears, students who are affected by this method may search for their memories first with out considering if this can be solved by their own capacity of thinking. Thus, they can undoubtly fail to solve the problems that they haven't memorized. This can cause damage to their future study and career because problem-solving is always required in these situations.

However, learning by rote is also a effective way for students to get good grades easily. For the preparation of examination, those students who can memorize the content of textbook well can perform well without too much effort. For example, students do not need to spend too much time understanding and struggling to find a solution by their own. This is an accessible way for every student to make success in studying.

Overall, although learning by rote is a easy way to get good grades, it can reduce students' passion for study and also limit their problem-solving and thinking capacity.